Bath’s highly acclaimed Chamber Choir


A Handful of Singers’ concert for Remembrance, on Sunday 6th November, marks the centenary of the Battle of the Somme, which ended after 141 days in November 1916, and brings together some exceptionally beautiful music by four English composers of the period.

Parry’s choral masterpiece, Songs of Farewell, written in the aftermath of the Somme, is also his personal farewell to the world before he died in 1918.

Nunc Dimitis is Simeon’s farewell to the world, and this marvellous 8-part setting by Holst is a miniature jewel in the choral repertoire.

Howells’ searingly beautiful Requiem, although written in the 1930s, harks back to untimely youthful death caused by war, but carries within it a message of eternal hope.

This is reinforced in Vaughan Williams’ extended anthem, Lord, thou hast been our refuge, which combines Psalm 90 with the hymn ‘O God, our help in ages past’.

The music will be interspersed with readings.

Our 2016/7 programme is now well advanced and can be found here.

A Handful of Singers, Bath’s highly acclaimed chamber choir of 24 voices, has been performing in and around Bath since its inception in 2002.

The choir is directed by its conductor Christopher Finch, winner of the  2010 BBC Choir of the Year. Under his direction, A Handful of Singers has developed a wide repertoire of music, classical and contemporary, serious and not too serious, and has gained an enviable reputation for the quality and vibrancy of its performances. The choir has, at the moment, spaces for soprano and alto singers (see the joining page for details).

And the choir has released its debut album: do listen to the following sample of excerpts from the CD. The CD may be purchased through members of the choir, by phone – 01225 311850, or by email to .

  •     All my trials
  •     Pilgrims Hymn
  •     Ave Maria
  •     Earth Song
  •     O Magnum Mysterium
  •     Why do the roses

Sing, Be, Live, See cover

Comments are closed.